Soymilk in my morning tea

4 07 2009

On mornings when I don’t rush off to work (aka weekends…), I always start my day with a huge mug of tea. Because my family makes frequent trips to China, there is always an abundant supply of loose leaf green tea in our cupboards. We have such an extensive stash that I can no longer identify what each variety is or where it was from.

Here’s a small sample of what I’ve been drinking:

DSCN1131DSCN1130DSCN1129

That’s three different kinds of green tea. I think the big difference is where the tea leaves were grown/picked.

Frankly, I’m not enough (or at all) of a tea snob that I can distinguish bad tea from good tea from better tea. I do, however, prefer loose leaf teas over bags for taste and freshness. At school, I drink lots of tea bag-tea because it’s what’s convenient, and Dragon Pearl Jasmine never disappoints. A couple of campus eateries also offer Mighty Leaf teas, which are fantastic. lot of I usually add a few tablespoons of soymilk (or cow’s milk) for every cup of water, for a chai-like richness. It’s warming from the inside out during winter.

Sometimes at night, I make myself a cup of chrysanthemum tea, also from loose flowers:

DSCN1128

I just soak a few flowers in near-boiling water for a couple of minutes, add a splash of milk, and voila, a caffeine-free concoction.

Anyway, my mosquito bites on my legs (the ones pictured here) are almost completely healed. My foot, however, is a swollen puffy mess. If I stand on it too long, it turns purple and spotty and HURTS. I’ve been staying off my feet for the past 2-3 days, so needless to say, no gym no running no weights no biking. Just ice, hydrocortisone, rest, and elevation. UGH. I feel so restless and frustrated. I was going to go watch the fireworks today around the block with some friends from high school, but there’s no way I can even walk the 3 blocks there and back.

However, we’re having some guests over tonight for dinner! Check back for a post on party food 🙂

What’s your favorite tea? Do you drink it plain? Sweetened?

Actions

Information

9 responses

5 07 2009
broccolihut

You and I have bonded over tea before, so you probably already know my answers, but I’ll reply anyway, just for kicks:) I like the Dragon Pearl Jasmine too, after you introduced it me, although I also like the pomegranate oolong and good ol’ peppermint. My absolute favorite of the Mighty Leaf teas is the Orange Dulce. In general, across brands, I always like chamomile. I could talk about tea for hours, but I’ll stop here…for now.

5 07 2009
Astres

My favourite types of tea:
Jasmine Dragon Tears
Matcha
Peach Blossom White Tea (which is odd because I usually HATE fruit teas but I loooooove white tea)

Never with any milk or sweetening. Just as is.

5 07 2009
insideiamdancing

Assam tea with milk and honey is my favourite! I only drink it at my dad’s house (he brews loose tea and has a magical touch, right down to the brand of tea). At home, I drink English Breakfast, sweet, with a splash of soy 🙂

5 07 2009
specialkphd

I LOVE Aveda tea, but right now, I also like tea with “spice” in it…perfect with my homemade protein bars or biscotti!

5 07 2009
janetha

wow i am not as tea-fancy as you! my fave kind is english breakfast tea, which i picked up a habit for living in london. other than that i don’t drink tea much!

5 07 2009
burpexcuzme

PLAIN and unsweetened for me! I’m quite a green tea snob, I just won’t have it with any added flavors…I like the pure green tea taste! My fav, of course, is Japanese sencha~

6 07 2009
Crabby McSlacker

Not a tea snob, and I frankly drink it more for health than taste. More iced tea in the summer, sometimes with a little fruit juice added.

But I’m a Coffee girl at heart.

6 07 2009
kakaner/stuffu

PLAIN PLAIN ALL THE WAY

earl grey

6 07 2009
Molly

I am currently drinking Flavia’s Green Tea with Jasmine (and two Splendas). This probably stems from when we used to go to Chinese restaurants- I’d gulp down whatever tea they served, always with two packets of sugar.

When I worked from Table de France, we used to ship teapots to Mighty Leaf Tea. I remember looking at their file, and thinking about Mighty Mouse!

Leave a Reply

