The perfect snack

3 07 2009

Fuji apple + Almond butter. Is there a more perfect marriage?

The first time I had a sliced apple + nut butter combo, I was at an eating disorders treatment center. During that spring 2007, peanut butter on apples (usually it was a mealy red delicious) was introduced into my diet as a way to get 1 fat + 1 fruit. I’ve always known about bananas and peanut butter, but APPLES too?! I loved the combination from day 1. I used to think of it as “peanut butter and jelly”-esque, because the sweetness and tartness from the apple cut into the creaminess of the peanut butter. It was more crunchy, less sweet, and less bread-y. Who eats a PB&J for the bread, anyway?

In the two years+ since I left, I’ve come to enjoy mix-and-matching a variety of fruits with a variety of nut butters. Gone are the days of the 0.75oz smuckers creamy single serve tubs (and gone, too, are the days of agonizing over calories), though the single serve non-natural packs sure are handy for an on-the-go snack.

DSCN1135

Nowadays, I like ANY fruit with ANY nut butter. Oranges, apples, pears, peaches… they all taste good. I enjoy all nut butters as well, but prefer the taste and texture of products without stabilizers. My favorite combination, however, is the apple (fuji, preferably) and almond butter (trader joe’s variety is pictured). I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it!

Do you have a favorite specific fruit + nut butter combination?

Actions

Information

10 responses

3 07 2009
janetha

i could not agree with you more! apple+AB is so perfect. i like using the justin’s individual packs while i am driving. i am a huge fan of honeycrisp apples. happy friday to you lady!

3 07 2009
Natalie

Apple and peanut butter is definitely one of my favorites. I also LOVE bananas with crunchy peanut butter 🙂

3 07 2009
burpexcuzme

banana is also good, and though this is not a fruit…kabocha or butternut squash is also so good with almond butter!

4 07 2009
broccolihut

Apples (esp Fuji!) are probably my favorite PB vehicle as well, although strawberries and PB are surprisingly tasty together too. Kinda like a PB&J I guess, without the bread!

4 07 2009
Danielle

My favorite combo… you already named it 🙂 delicious, I’m glad you’re able to enjoy it to the fullest!

4 07 2009
insideiamdancing

I had never HEARD of apples with peanut butter until I went to the US- it was presented to me and I still remember how confused I was. PB and bread, yes. PB on something that wasn’t a sandwich? WHAT? It was instant love. I love apples and I love PB- what could go wrong? (aside from mealy apples!) I love bananas or apples (braeburn!) and peanut butter, blueberries and almond butter, pumpkin and peanut butter (I know, not a fruit, but still!) I need to try more combinations but I buy what’s cheap 😛

4 07 2009
Kailey

fruit with nut butters will forever be my favorite snack 🙂

4 07 2009
Marta

Hi!
I’m new to your blog! I love your name because I’m also a Gym Rat Foodie! hahahaha I would have never thought of putting into words, but it’s true! Great blog here, I love your focus on healthy, quick, simple eating!
Pears and hazelnuts… heaven!

4 07 2009
gymratfoodie

Thank you!

Pears and hazelnut sounds deliiiiiiiiicious 🙂

9 07 2009
Nikki

Has it really been 2+ years? I think you should send them your food info. Yours definitely even LOOKS better than theirs!
And I agree…PB + apples rocks. Gala, Pink Lady and Fuji are my fave.

Leave a Reply

