Video: Rosalie does chin-ups!

29 06 2009

Last night I made my mom take a video of me doing chin-ups. Usually, it takes my almost all my effort to do three of them consecutively from a dead hang. So I made sure I was well-rested all day since I wanted to make it look effortless on camera, haha. After showing my mom how to work the camera’s video recording capabilities, I did 3 in rapid succession, thinking all was well and quite giddy about seeing what my back looked like during a chin-up.

Well, it turned out that the video didn’t actually start recording. 3 chin-ups for nothing, I thought. Well, not for nothing, because I like doing chin-ups and thus they’re still for something but I wasn’t sure I could do three more for the video.

Then I surprised myeslf and squeezed them out, albeit grunting and muttering. So you should click the button and watch ;P

Some people call them chin-ups, some people call them pull-ups with a supinated grip (palms facing inwards). Whatever one might call them, the number of chin-ups one can do is a great marker of overall upper body strength, since they pretty much use all the muscles in my arms/shoulders/back at the same time. In my opinion, pullups/chinups are the best upper body exercises, and the only other exercises I do are dips and pushups. Chin/pullups are great for developing functional strength and I can do them right at home in my door! Ha.

What if you can’t do a chin/pullup? About 6 months ago, I couldn’t complete one from a dead hang. I could go from 180 degrees (arms straight) to… oh, maybe 120 degrees (and my boyfriend would tease me about explaining it in math terms). Most untrained females can’t do one! I basically built up to one by doing a lot of negative chinups (using a stool to get to the top, with my chin above the bar, and lowering myself as slowly as possible), jumping pullups (in which I jump to the bar and use the upwards momentum to help me up), and having someone push my legs up as a boost as I pulled up (thank you dear boyfriend). Well, the learning curve was steep, so though it took me quite awhile to get the first rep, the second came quickly soon after, and the third, etc., and now I can do 4 in a row!

Actions

Information

8 responses

29 06 2009
charlotte

I love it!! You look great, girl! I remember my first pull-up – after that I had to do them everwhere I went, just to make sure I hadn’t lost it. My husband had to finally tell me to quit showing off because it was making people stare. So I say you rock those chin-ups:)

29 06 2009
gymratfoodie

YES! After my first one I kept on wondering, “was that a fluke?!” and I wasn’t entirely convinced because I had spent the 6 months prior doing negatives/resistance band-assisted ones all the time. So I’d walk by and do one “just in case” from time to time.

30 06 2009
broccolihut

Wow, I am so in awe of you right now. I talk about my toothpick arms all the time, and although they are getting stronger, I am pretty sure they are nowhere near chin up strength–yet. Thanks for the inspiration!

30 06 2009
mdaffiliatemarketing

That

30 06 2009
Crabby McSlacker

I’m so jealous!

I’ve been working on trying to do pull ups for ages, but keep getting stalled. Though coincidentally, I seem to hit a plateau whenever I stop doing negatives, which I hate.

Thanks for the inspiration! Someday I want to post a video just like that!

30 06 2009
gymratfoodie

I need to be regularly doing them or I find I lose the ability! Same with pushups, planks, and a lot of the body weight exercises that incorporate lots of muscle groups. Oooh keep on keeping on with the negatives!! A fun game is to see how long I can hold it there with my arms at 90 degrees! Not fun, per se, but …….. you know what I mean.

I am lookin forward to that video 😉

30 06 2009
kakaner/stuffu

i should follow your advice!!!

i used to be able to do pullups on crew… but alas, i have lost all motivation to workout my arms. i miss how my arms used to look…

i should do that again! and erg

22 08 2009
suhan

ahoy, so you have a new blog.
You should work towards wide grip overhand pull ups, and do the other ones where your thumbs would point backwards. I pretty much to 3 different chin/pull up exercises at the gym when i go and wide grip are by far the toughest but satisfactory of the bunch

Leave a Reply

